Seizure type and their associated seizure duration

  • Monoclonic seizure are the shortest in duration at <150 ms, followed in ascending order by epileptic spasms, tonic seizures, atonic seizures, generalized clonic seizures, and typical absence seizures. The longest seizure duration is atypical absences lasting 2–100 s.
  • The authors concluded that there are distinct timeframes characteristic of seizure types which will have important consequences for differentiating seizures and diagnosing epilepsy syndromes.